#19: Icy

March 24, 2006

Audio link: 24 March 2006

Something forlorn and snowy with a contrapuntal middle idea, perhaps ending in front of the fire.

3 Responses to “#19: Icy”

  1. Jae Gruenke Says:

    The forthrightness of the canon in the middle section surprised me after the laciness of the first part — a contrast of delicacy and sturdiness I found very satisfying.

  2. Brent Murray Says:

    This may be my favorite piece so far. I thought the opening section was particularly cinematic/programmatic and it left me wanting further development of the theme in that style. Quite beautiful.

  3. ericbarnhill Says:

    Hi Brent,

    I agree it’s more programmatic somehow. I think it has to do with a bit more use of register as a structural device, which shows what a powerful thing that can be to our internal image of a piece of music. Wonder if you think so too.


Leave a Reply

