#28: Joyful

April 7, 2006

Audio link: 7 March 2006

I had to play with this one for a while to get an idea of what I wanted. Usually when that happens, there's some additional dimension I'm not used to. In this case, I think it is the delicate balance between major and minor right at the beginning of the main idea that contains a subtlety I needed a while to work out, but at the same time that one moment is what makes the piece. There is some contrasting passagework that proved to be more awkward for my fingers than for my ears! It sort of gets better as it goes along, anyhow the occasional smudge at least shows proof I'm improvising.

Leave a Reply

