#237-8: Prelude. Etude. Prelude. Etude. Screwup!

April 25, 2007

Etude 7 with preluding: 25 April 2007

Etude 8 with preluding and crash and burn: 25 April 2007

Two more Chopin Etudes with preludes, on separate tracks but improvised in succession. I was extremely pleased at part of the second prelude, where I brought together motives from both etudes 7 and 8 at the same time in a coherent way. Unfortunately this pleasure took me rushing into the eighth etude too fast for the devilishly intricate coda, and I found myself pulling a Lindsay Jacobellis. However there’s no way to honestly replicate the journey to that nice prelude theme through free improvisation, so I leave it be — have a laugh at the end when I trip in the brambles. There’s a reason this blog isn’t called “the daily perfect masterpiece”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

