#276: Improvisations with an Autistic Child

October 22, 2007

Audio link: 22 oct 2007

Over at the Cognitive Eurhythmics studio I have a new profoundly autistic student. He’s a gentle soul and explosively rhythmic in a way that I think reflects his family, who immigrated from Africa. We mostly don’t talk but just interact through rhythm and music. What’s amazing to me is how he causes me to improvise different music than I would play on my own through his rhythmic use of his voice and body. Some of it even sounds really good, which means that somehow, a good piece was created due to the interaction of two rather than one. This improv is a recap of some of the feel of that music we make, though not as good as our best moments, which I can’t self-generate.

Leave a Reply

