Welcome Wall Street Journal Readers

November 28, 2008

Welcome Wall Street Journal readers. I’m delighted to be mentioned in this weekend’s article on improvisation in classical music. For regular listeners who did not see the article, you’ll doubtless find it interesting: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB122781195665062021.html .

I thought the article was a great coming-out party for some of us who have felt an artistic calling to turn towards improvisation. In my case, I graduated from Juilliard with a degree in piano performance a little over 10 years ago. With every passing year after my graduation, I felt more and more that I wanted to make my own contribution to my own recitals, and start speaking my own words in the language I loved.

I found the way to do that through the Dalcroze method. The Dalcroze method, Swiss originally, teaches musical concepts through integrated work with movement, voice, and instrumental improvisation. I found it gave me the tools I needed to do what I had always wanted. In addition to the Dalcroze training I sat at the piano for hours, trying to figure out what I truly wanted to say after all these years of training.

This blog came out of that search. It’s a personal work above all, but one in which I invite your listening and your feedback, either in the comments here or via email: info at cognitive-eurhythmics dot com .

If you don’t wish to click on all the individual links, there are two other ways to enjoy the music here: the jukebox and the podcast. Further information about the site is available to your right.

