Crossroads

August 5, 2011

It is has been a while since I visited the Daily Improvisation! As some of you know, the principal reason is that my life has changed direction to some extent. I’ll be starting a PhD Neuroscience of Music this fall at the University of Edinburgh. This change puts Cognitive Eurhythmics front and center in my life at last so I’m very excited about it. Currently, my digital piano is on its way to the UK on slow boat.

Between toddler parenting, an absurdly overcommitted schedule, and preparations for a field-leaping, country-jumping, PhD, the Daily Improvisation took a back seat this year. However, I taught many classes each week and improvised in all of them — so I am certainly not done as an improviser!

Hopefully this move will lead to a better life for my family and I, and a return to musical creativity and growth for myself. Hopefully I can even carve out a very little practice time each day during PhD study, enough to get the ball rolling again and make some contributions to the site. Maybe I will even figure out exactly what format this site should be!

Thanks for your interest and support. I’ve given this site six hundred improvisations, but I promise you, I haven’t even gotten started, and there is so much more to come.

